Categorized | OTHER SPORTS

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List (Till Now)

ICC Cricket World Cup is the main flagship tournament of international cricket and it is held every four years. Cricket World Cup is the third biggest sporting competition behind FIFA World Cup and Rugby World Cup. Cricket World Cup was started back in 1975 with the birth of One-Day cricket (50 over format) and West Indies went on to win the first two world cups.

Cricket World Cup Winners List
So far 11 world cups have taken place and Australia is the most successful team having won 5 world cup titles and finished runners-up three times. India and West Indies has the competition twice each while Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the only other teams to have lift the biggest trophy in world cricket.

Australian Dominance: Australia won the most recent competition which took place in February-March 2015 co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia. Australia defeated New Zealand in the final to win their fifth world cup title in Melbourne. Australia also won three back to back titles in 1999, 2003 and 2007 and it was India who broke their winning streak in 2011 when they won their second world cup.

See Also:

Cricket World Cup Winners 
1975 West IndiesWest Indies   Australia England
1979 West IndiesWest Indies  Australia England
1983 IndiaIndia  West Indies England
1987 AustraliaAustralia  England India & Pakistan
1992 Pakistan cricket flagPakistan England Australia & New Zealand
1996 Sri Lanka flagSri Lanka  Australia Pakistan & India
1999 AustraliaAustralia  Pakistan England
2003 AustraliaAustralia  India South Africa
2007 AustraliaAustralia  Sri Lanka West Indies
2011 IndiaIndia  Sri Lanka India & Bangladesh
2015 AustraliaAustralia  New Zealand Australia & New Zealand
2019 England
2023 India

table seperater
Looking Ahead: Next two world cup hosting nations are already decided with England hosting in 2019 while India will exclusively host in 2023 what will be the 13th edition of the biggest cricket prize. England has played two world cup finals and lost on both occasions in 1987 against Australia and than in 1992 against Pakistan.

Australia is undoubtedly the greatest cricket nation and its hard to imagine any other team breaking their dominance in cricket for years to come. I would love to hear your thoughts about which is the greatest cricket nation and can any team break Australia dominance in near future ? So far only 6 teams has ever world the cricket world cup you think any other team can finally lift the coveted trophy ? let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Comments are closed.

  • Popular
  • Latest
  • Comments
  • Tags
  • Subscribe

Take all the stuff to your Mail:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Total Sports Madnesson


Whats New


Disclaimer: No copyright infringement is intended nor implied. To discuss this disclaimer or the removal of/appropriate credit for materials of which you hold copyright please contact us, NO video highlights and Live Streaming material are hosted on this site, all videos are hosted on a third party site and Live Links are provided of streams which are being hosted on other sites..