Categorized | CRICKET

Pakistan Super League (PSL 2016) Team Squads – Players List

Pakistan Super League Team Squads 2016Pakistan Super League will be the official domestic T20 competition for Pakistan and the season 1 will begin on 4th February 2016 and will be played through 23 February in two cities of UAE. (Dubai and Sharjah). Five teams has been formed to with Karachi Kings, Peshawar Zalmi, Lahore Qalandars, Islamabad Vipers and Quetta Gladiators.

PSL Team Squads: All five teams has confirmed their squads after 22 December 2015 draft ceremony concluded. More than 300 players were included in the draft which were further divided into 5 categories of Platinum, Diomond, Gold, Silver and Emerging. Every team needed to pick atleast three players from top three categories, 2 mandatory picks from emerging category and teams can pick 5 from silver category.

Younis Khan, Abdul Razzaq and Saeed Ajmal were unpicked on second day of the draft. Below is the official list of team squads of all 5 franchises.

Karachi Kings Team Logo

Shoaib Malik will captain Karachi Kings side which include 14 players including 5 oversees picks of Shakib Al Hasan, Lendl Simmons, James Vince, Mushfiqur Rehim.

Ary Media Group purchesed Karachi out for around $2.6 million a year. Mickey Arthur will be the head coach while Mushtaq Ahmad will have bowling coach responsibilities.

  1. Shoaib Malik (Platinum)
  2. Shakib Al Hasan (Platinum)
  3. Sohail Tanvir (Platinum)
  4. Mohammad Amir (Gold)
  5. Immad Wasim (Diamond)
  6. Bilawal Bhatti (Gold)
  7. Iftikhar Ahmed (Silver)
  8. Nauman Anwar (Silver)
  9. Usama Mir (Silver)
  10. Sohail Khan (Silver)
  11. Mushfiqur Rahim (BD, Silver)
  12. Ravi Bopara (ENG, Diamond)
  13. Lendl Simmons (WI, Diamond)
  14. James Vince (ENG, Gold)

Peshawar Zalmi Team Logo

Shahid Afridi was the top pick for Peshawar who splashed as much as $140,000 to draft in Pakistan t20 captain.

Haier Group paid $2.4 million a year to buy Peshawar Franchise which will be lead by Afridi and Andy Flower will be head coach alongside Muhammad Akram bowling coach.

  1. Shahid Afridi (Platinum)
  2. Wahab Riaz (Platinum)
  3. Kamran Akmal (Diamond)
  4. Mohammad Hafeez (Diamond)
  5. Junaid Khan (Gold)
  6. Aamir Yamin (Silver)
  7. Dawid Malan (Silver)
  8. Imran Khan Jr. (Silver)
  9. Shahid Yousuf (Silver)
  10. Abdur Rehman (Silver)
  11. Darren Sammy (WI, Platinum)
  12. Chris Jordan (ENG, Diamond)
  13. Tamim Iqbal (BD, Gold)
  14. James Allenby (AUS, Gold)

Lahore Qalandars

Lahore drafted in 14 players including 5 oversees picks with Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo most notable names for Lahore Qalandars.

  1. Umar Akmal (Platinum)
  2. Mohammad Rizwan (Diamond)
  3. Yasir Shah (Diamond)
  4. Sohaib Maqsood (Diamond)
  5. Zafar Gohar (Silver)
  6. Hammad Azam (Silver)
  7. Zia-ul-Haq (Silver)
  8. Zohaib Khan (Silver)
  9. Azhar Ali (Silver)
  10. Chris Gayle (WI, Platinum)
  11. Dwayne Bravo (WI, Platinum)
  12. Mustafizur Rahman (BD, Gold)
  13. Kevon Cooper (WI, Gold)
  14. Cameron Delport (SA, Gold)

Islamabad United Team LogoIslamabad United PSL Squad:

Pakistan test captain Misbah-ul-Haq was the top pick for Islamabad franchise who also notched up Shane Watson of Australia.

  1. Misbah-ul-Haq (Platinum)
  2. Andre Russell (WI, Platinum)
  3. Shane Watson (AUS, Platinum)
  4. Samuel Badree (WI, Diamond)
  5. Mohammad Irfan (Diamond)
  6. Brad Haddin (AUS, Diamond)
  7. Sharjeel Khan (Gold)
  8. Mohammad Sami (Gold)
  9. Khalid Latif (Gold)
  10. Babar Azam (Silver)
  11. Imran Khalid (Silver)
  12. Kamran Ghulam (Silver)
  13. Umar Amin (Silver)
  14. Sam Billings (ENG, Silver)

Quetta Gladiators logoQuetta Gladiators PSL Squad:

Kevin Pieterson and Ahmad Shehzad were the top picks for Quetta gladiators which include 5 foreign players. Kevin Pieterson is likely to lead the Quetta team in PSL 2016.

  1. Kevin Pietersen (ENG, Platinum)
  2. Ahmed Shehzad (Platinum)
  3. Sarfraz Ahmed (Platinum)
  4. Anwar Ali (Diamond)
  5. Jason Holder (WI, Diamond)
  6. Luke Wright (ENG, Diamond)
  7. Zulfiqar Babar (Gold)
  8. Umar Gul (Gold)
  9. Elton Chigumbura (ZIM, Gold)
  10. Bilal Asif (Silver)
  11. Asad Shafiq (Silver)
  12. Mohammad Nawaz (Silver)
  13. Saad Nasim (Silver)
  14. Mohammad Nabi (AFG, Silver)

Team Owners: All five teams were auctioned on 3rd december and teams were sold for collective $93 million for the next 10 years. Karachi Kings was sold as the most expensive with Ary Media Group paying $2.6 million yearly fee for Karachi Kings. Here are the details of how the teams were sold.

Karachi Kings – Ary Media Group: $2.6 million
Lahore Qalandars Bought by Qatar Oil for $2.4 million
Islamabad Bought by UAE Capital Venture for $1.5 million
Peshawar Zalmi bought by Haier for $1.6M million
Quetta Gladiators bought by Omar Associates for $1.1 million

Comments are closed.

  • Popular
  • Latest
  • Comments
  • Tags
  • Subscribe

Take all the stuff to your Mail:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Total Sports Madnesson


Whats New


Disclaimer: No copyright infringement is intended nor implied. To discuss this disclaimer or the removal of/appropriate credit for materials of which you hold copyright please contact us, NO video highlights and Live Streaming material are hosted on this site, all videos are hosted on a third party site and Live Links are provided of streams which are being hosted on other sites..