Categorized | CRICKET

IPL 2016 Prize Money (Winners to get $3 million)

Indian Premier League season 9 will be getting underway in April after the T20 world cup in India. The player draft and auction has taken place and all 8 teams have their 2016 squads ready. IPL is a “sports brand” which is on the up considering how far the domestic indian T20 league has come in less than 10 years. Financially it is the most lucrative T20 league in the world by far for both players and the participating teams.

IPL Prize Money
IPL has a revenue sharing model pretty much similar to England’s Premier League football where most of the money comes from TV rights deal which is shared equally between the clubs while the central pool which include revenue from IPL title sponsors and other partner companies is also shared equally between all the teams.

Although small potion from TV rights deal money and small percentage from central pool makes up the yearly prize money fund. Which is distributed according to how the teams finish. We take a look at Indian Premier League prize money distribution system and how much is on offer for 2016 champions.

IPL 2016 Prize Money:

The total prize money pool for 2016 IPL season is set to be around $7 million (₹47 crore). The winners of 2016 IPL will get around $3 million (₹20 crore) while the losing finalists will take home as much as $1.5 million (₹11 crore). Other two teams in play-off will get ₹7.5 crore each.

Indian Cricket Premier League 2016 – Prize Money Breakdown
WINNERS  $3 million (₹20 crore)
Runners-up  $1.5 million (₹11 crore)
3rd Placed Team in Playoff  $900,000  (₹7.5 crore)
4th Placed Team in Playoff   $900,000 (₹7.5 crore)
Other four teams ? Teams who don’t qualify for playoffs are not paid any prize money
Do players get prize money ? YES, according to BCCI/IPL mandate half of the prize money won by team will be awarded to the players

table seperater
So now you know how much your team will get in prize money if they finish the playoff or go on to win the IPL 9 season. But where do this prize money go ?

According to BCCI/IPL mandate any prize money on offer will be shared between franchise and its players with 50%/50% ration. So if Mumbai Indians were to win IPL 2016 season, the $3 million awarded to the franchise will be divideded into two parts $1.5 million going to franchise while the rest $1.5 million will be distributed equally among squad

Comments are closed.

  • Popular
  • Latest
  • Comments
  • Tags
  • Subscribe

Take all the stuff to your Mail:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Total Sports Madnesson


Whats New


Disclaimer: No copyright infringement is intended nor implied. To discuss this disclaimer or the removal of/appropriate credit for materials of which you hold copyright please contact us, NO video highlights and Live Streaming material are hosted on this site, all videos are hosted on a third party site and Live Links are provided of streams which are being hosted on other sites..