Categorized | RUGBY

All-Time Rugby World Cup Winners List

Most Successful teams in rugby world cup history
After winning the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England/Wales, New Zealand (All Blacks) became the most successful team in history of international rugby. Today we take a look at historic results in relatively short history of Rugby World Cup. But before we jump into world cup winners list here is a small trivia. The World Cup Trophy known as “Webb Ellis Cup” is named after William Webb Ellis. Legend has it that Webb Ellis invented the game of “Rugby” during a football game.

Anyway as far as the rugby world cup winners are concerned so far 3 teams has won the competition twice or more. With New Zealand winning the first (1987) followed that with back to back wins in 2011 and 2015. South Africa and Australia also won the Rugby World Cup twice. While England has won the once back in 2003. Below is the history of all 7 world cups played so far and details on winners, runner ups, third place and the semifinal losers.

Most Successful Teams In Rugby World Cup History
1987 New Zealand FlagNew Zealand franceFrance WalesWales AustraliaAustralia
1991 AustraliaAustralia  EnglandEngland New Zealand FlagNew Zealand  ScotlandScotland 
1995 South AfricaSouth Africa  New Zealand FlagNew Zealand  franceFrance EnglandEngland
1999 AustraliaAustralia  franceFrance  South AfricaSouth Africa  New Zealand FlagNew Zealand
2003 EnglandEngland  AustraliaAustralia  New Zealand FlagNew Zealand franceFrance 
2007 South AfricaSouth Africa  EnglandEngland argentinaArgentina franceFrance 
2011 New Zealand FlagNew Zealand  franceFrance  AustraliaAustralia  WalesWales
2015 New Zealand FlagNew Zealand  AustraliaAustralia South AFrica cricket flagSouth Africa argentinaArgentina

table seperater
So looking at the above history its apparent that New Zealand are the most successful team having won the competition twice, runners once and 2 time third place finishes followed by 1 fourth place. Australia also have 2 titles, 1 runner-up, third place and fourth place finishes. France are one of the best teams not to have won the competition as the lost three finals and 2 semifinals.

Ireland, Fiji, Samoa and Canada has reached quarter-finals but never won went beyond with Ireland having reached 5 quarter finals but never reached semifinals.

Comments are closed.

  • Popular
  • Latest
  • Comments
  • Tags
  • Subscribe

Take all the stuff to your Mail:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Total Sports Madnesson


Whats New


Disclaimer: No copyright infringement is intended nor implied. To discuss this disclaimer or the removal of/appropriate credit for materials of which you hold copyright please contact us, NO video highlights and Live Streaming material are hosted on this site, all videos are hosted on a third party site and Live Links are provided of streams which are being hosted on other sites..