Categorized | FOOTBALL

Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2017 Ballon D’Or Award (Confirmed)

Ballon d’Or 2017 winner will be announced on Thursday night, 07 December 2017 by the FranceFootball Magazine and Ronaldo, Messi and Neymar are set to battle it out for the award. However Cristiano Ronaldo is widely expected to win the 2017 Ballon d’Or award and there have been several leaks hinting Ronaldo as winning. Regardless, we will be putting live results of the Ballon dor ceremony which takes place at around 07:00 pm CET / 06:00 pm Uk time.

Nike’s special edition Ronaldo boots were leaked online which suggest the Portugese is set to bag his fifth Ballon d’Or award equaling Messi haul. Ronaldo’s mother also posted on Instagram “ready for Paris tonight” which suggest Ronaldo is set to win the award. Morever, Messi and Neymar who are other two top contenders are not expected to be at the ceremony. So it will be a big surprise if Ronaldo won’t win the award.

Ronaldo finished top of the voting while Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann makes the top three respectively. Luis Suarez and Neymar makes the top 5. Gareth Bale, Riyad Mahrez, Jamie Vardy, Pepe and Gianluigi Buffon makes the top 10 list.

This is the time of the year when discussion about who will win “Ballon d’Or” begins and FranceFootball has already revealed the shortlist of 30 men who will be contesting for this year’s title. The 2016 Ballon Dor award will revert back to the orignal Ballon d’Or after they terminated their contract with FIFA and from now on it will only be known as Ballon d’Or. Unlike the previous 5 years where the winner was decided with the help of votes from national team coaches and captain, from now on only respected pool of football journalists will vote for this prestigious award.

ceremony will be taking place on Monday, 09 January 2017 and there won’t be any 3-man shortlist before the winner is announced.

Who Will Win The 2017 FIFA Ballon D’or Award ?

Ballon Dor 2016-2017 Award Winner Predictions
It is highly likely that Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Luis Suarez will make the shortlist for the FIFA Ballon Dor award and rightly so. Ronaldo dominated the 2015-16 season scoring 51 goals and guiding Real Madrid to Champions League success while played integral part in Portugal’s Euro 2016 win. He is bookies favorite to win his fourth Ballon Dor award after yet another landmark season.

See Also:

Messi and Suarez guided Barcelona to another league and cup double where Suarez finished as La Liga top scorer while Messi ended up player of the tournament in Copa America 2016.

Guidelines for Ballon d’Ord Award: here are some of the guidelines defined by FranceFootball magazine for the Ballon d’Or award.

  • Respected football Journalists will take part in the voting (most of journalists will be from major football countries like France, Germany, England and Spain.
  • FranceFootball will only announced the 30-man shortlist and there won’t be any 3-man shortlist. The eventual winner will be announced in December 2016.
  • The scoring system will remain the same as every journalist will pick top three in preference order where first pick get 5 points, 2nd pick 3 and the third gets 1 point..

When Ballon d’Or Ceremony Will Take Place ?

Unlike the FIFA ceremonies, Ballon d’Od ceremony will take place in December 2016 and there won’t be any massive ceremony before the winner is announced . See Also:

Here is the shortlist of possible 30 players set to be announced for the Ballon D’or Award 2016.

1 Manuel Neuer (GK) Arturo Vidal
Jamie Vardy
2 Rui Patricio (GK) Paul Pogba
Luis Suarez
3 Gianluigi Buffon (GK) Dimitri Payet Sergio Aguero
4 Hugo Lloris (GK) Luka Modric Neymar
5 Sergio Ramos Riyad Mahrez Thomas Muller
6 Diego Godín Toni Kroos Lionel Messi
7 Pepe Koke Robert Lewandowski
8 Andres Iniesta Zlatan Ibrahimovic
9 Kevin De Bruyne Gonzalo Higuain
10 Gareth Bale Antoine Griezmann
11 Cristiano Ronaldo Cristiano Ronaldo
12 Aubameyang

table seperater
If we looks at the results of last year’s Ballon Dor voting, Messi won his 5th award with 41.33% votes while Ronaldo finished second with 27.76%. While there was not much to choose from in rest of the pack and we can expect similar results this season..

Let me know your thoughts by commenting below “who is going to win this year and why ?”. Please avoid any bad language or your comments won’t be published. Some of the comments below are from last year’s award results.

Comments are closed.

  • Popular
  • Latest
  • Comments
  • Tags
  • Subscribe

Take all the stuff to your Mail:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Total Sports Madnesson


Whats New


Disclaimer: No copyright infringement is intended nor implied. To discuss this disclaimer or the removal of/appropriate credit for materials of which you hold copyright please contact us, NO video highlights and Live Streaming material are hosted on this site, all videos are hosted on a third party site and Live Links are provided of streams which are being hosted on other sites..