Categorized | CRICKET

2019 ICC Cricket World Cup Prize Money Breakdown (Confirmed)

Cricket World Cup 2017 is just 1 year away as it starts on 30th May 2019 and will be played at the home of cricket in England & Wales. ICC has already announced the prize money which got a another 40% hike compared to the world cup 2015 and massive 60% compared to 2011 tournament. ICC announced that a total of US$14 million will be awarded to 10 participating teams with the winner pocketing guaranteed of $5 million (USD) plus $50,000 for every win in the round robin stage.

Back in 2011 ICC increased the prize money pool to double of what was on offer in 2007 world cup and another 20% increase in the prize money took the total pool to $10m in 2015. The current increase of 40% for 2019 World Cup is a welcome addition and considering there will be less teams in 2018 compared to 2015, all participating nations will get a bigger chunk in this world cup. Here is the complete breakdown on how the prize money will be awarded among 10 teams in the world cup.

Cricket World Cup 2019 – Prize Money Breakdown (Confirmed by ICC)
Winners $4.8 million $3.975 million
Runners-up $2.2 million $1.75 million
2 Losing Semi-Finalists $1 million (each) $600,000 (each)
Eliminated teams from group stages $500,000 (each) $300,000 each (quarter finalists)
Winning group match $50,000 (for every group match win) $45,000 (for every group match win)
TOTAL $14million $10million

History of Cricket World Cup Prize Money:

ICC has been increasing the prize money with every passing world cup, back in 2003 world cup which took place in South Africa the total prize money pool was around $4.5 million where the winner received $2million but there was no compensation for teams losing out in group stages. The prize money was more a less same for the 2007 world cup but in 20011 ICC almost doubled the total prize money pool, another 20% increase in 2015 took the total pool to $10 million and now ICC announced yet another 40% increase for 2019 World Cup taking total prize money pool to massive $14 million.

Historic Prize Money Breakdown Of Previous World Cups
Winners Runnerup Semifinal (Losing Teams) Quarterfinals (Losing Teams) Total
2003 $2m $800,000 $200,000 $75,000 $4.5m
2007  $2.4m $1m $400,000 $175,000 $5m
2011  $3.2m $1.5m $500,000 $225,000 $8m
2015  $3.9m $1.75m $600,000 $300,000 $10m
2019  $5m $2.2m $1m $500,000 (8 eliminated teams in group stage) $14m

Comments are closed.

  • Popular
  • Latest
  • Comments
  • Tags
  • Subscribe

Take all the stuff to your Mail:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Total Sports Madnesson


Whats New


Disclaimer: No copyright infringement is intended nor implied. To discuss this disclaimer or the removal of/appropriate credit for materials of which you hold copyright please contact us, NO video highlights and Live Streaming material are hosted on this site, all videos are hosted on a third party site and Live Links are provided of streams which are being hosted on other sites..