Categorized | OTHER SPORTS

List Of Ballon d’Or Winners Since 1956 To 2019

FIFA Ballon d'Or Award Winners since 1956
FIFA Ballon d’Or award is the highest level of individual award in football and it is awarded to the best player in the world every year. The history about the current Ballon d’Or award is a bit complex so lets explain it briefly. Ballon d’Or award started back in 1956 and it was known as “European Player Of the year award” and only the players from europe were eligible for this award. But In 1995 the rules were changed and any player playing for European club could win it. But in 2009 it was merged with “FIFA’s player of the year award” and became FIFA Ballon d’or which any footballer from any part of the world can win it.

Update: Cristiano Ronaldo has won the 2017 Ballon d’or ahead and now joins Lionel Messi with most Ballon d’Or titles with 5 each.

Now lets take a look at the all past winners of Ballon d’Or (now FIFA Ballon d’Or) award. From 1956 only european players were eligible but in 1995 any nationality player playing for a european club was eligible.

Past Winners of Ballon d’Or Award
2018 Luka Modric (New) Croatia Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronald Portugal Real Madrid
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2015 Lionel Messi Argentina FC Barcelona
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo  Portugal Real Madrid
2012  Lionel Messi Argentina FC Barcelona
2011 Lionel Messi  Argentina FC Barcelona
2010 Lionel Messi  Argentina FC Barcelona
2009 Lionel Messi  Argentina FC Barcelona
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo  Portugal Manchester United
2007 Kaká   Brazil AC Milan
2006 Fabio Cannavaro  Italy Real Madrid/Juventus
2005 Ronaldinho  Brazil Barcelona
2004 Andriy Shevchenko  Ukraine AC Milan
2003 Pavel Nedvěd  Czech Republic Juventus
2002 Ronaldo  Brazil Real Madrid
2001 Michael Owen  England Liverpool
2000 Luís Figo  Portugal Real Madrid
1999 Rivaldo  Brazil Barcelona
1998 Zinedine Zidane  France Juventus
1997 Ronaldo  Brazil Inter Milan
1996 Matthias Sammer  Germany Borussia Dortmund
1995 George Weah  Liberia AC Milan
1994 Hristo Stoichkov  Bulgaria Barcelona
1993 Roberto Baggio  Italy Juventus
1992 Marco van Basten  Netherlands AC Milan
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin  France Marseille
1990 Lothar Matthäus   Germany Inter Milan
1989 Marco van Basten  Netherlands AC Milan
1988 Marco van Basten  Netherlands AC Milan
1987 Ruud Gullit  Netherlands  AC Milan
1986 Igor Belanov  Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1985 Michel Platini  France Juventus
1984 Michel Platini  France Juventus
1983 Michel Platini  France Juventus
1982 Paolo Rossi   Italy Juventus
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge  Germany Bayern Munich
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge  Germany Bayern Munich
1979 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1978 Kevin Keegan  England Hamburg
1977 Allan Simonsen  Denmark Borussia M”nchengladbach
1976 Franz Beckenbauer  Germany Bayern Munich
1975 Oleg Blokhin  Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1974 Johan Cruyff  Netherlands Barcelona
1973 Johan Cruyff  Netherlands Barcelona
1972 Franz Beckenbauer  Germany Bayern Munich
1971 Johan Cruyff   Netherlands Barcelona
1970 Gerd Müller  Germany Bayern Munich
1969 Gianni Rivera  Italy Milan
1968 George Best  Northern Ireland Manchester United
1967 Flórián Albert  Hungary Ferencv rosi TC
1966 Bobby Charlton England Manchester United
1965 Eusébio  Portugal Benfica
1964 Denis Law  Scotland Manchester United
1963 Lev Yashin  Soviet Union Dynamo Moscow
1962 Josef Masopust  Czechoslovakia Dukla Prague
1961 Omar Sívori  Italy Juventus
1960 Luis Suárez  Spain Barcelona
1959 Alfredo Di Stéfano  Spain Real Madrid
1958 Raymond Kopa France Real Madrid
1957 Alfredo Di Stéfano  Spain Real Madrid
1956 Stanley Matthews England Blackpool

table seperater
Jury & Selection Process: Since 2009 when both Ballon d’Or and FIFA Player of the year award were merged the selection process also disclosed to public. All national team captains and Coaches plus 1 specialist journalists from every country can vote for the nominees. The get a draft where they have to pick three players in decending order and when the drafts are return FIFA calculate points account to following criteria. 1 position pick is awarded 5 points, second pick is 3 and third pick gets 1 point. So around 500 voters (170 national team captain, 170 national coaches and around 170 journalists) choices are counted and the player with most points get the Ballon Dor award.

Comments are closed.

  • Popular
  • Latest
  • Comments
  • Tags
  • Subscribe

Take all the stuff to your Mail:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Total Sports Madnesson


Whats New


Disclaimer: No copyright infringement is intended nor implied. To discuss this disclaimer or the removal of/appropriate credit for materials of which you hold copyright please contact us, NO video highlights and Live Streaming material are hosted on this site, all videos are hosted on a third party site and Live Links are provided of streams which are being hosted on other sites..